Review #8: The Girls Weekend by Jody Gehrman

For fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley, a riveting locked-room mystery about five college friends eager to reunite after years apart–only to be ripped apart again when their host’s disappearance unearths dark secrets and old grudges.

Their reunion just became a crime scene . . .

June Moody, a thirty-something English professor, just wants to get away from her recent breakup and reunite with girlfriends over summer break. Her old friend and longtime nemesis, Sadie MacTavish, a mega-successful author, invites June and her college friends to a baby shower at her sprawling estate in the San Juan Islands. June is less than thrilled to spend time with Sadie–and her husband, June’s former crush–but agrees to go.

The party gets off to a shaky start when old grudges resurface, but when they wake the next morning, they find something worse: Sadie is missing, the house is in shambles, and bloodstains mar the staircase. None of them has any memory of the night before; they wonder if they were drugged. Everyone’s a suspect. Since June had a secret rendezvous with Sadie’s husband, she has plenty of reason to suspect herself. Apparently, so do the cops.

A Celtic knot of suspense and surprise, this brooding, atmospheric novel will keep you guessing as each twist reveals a new possibility. It will remind you of friendships hidden in the depths of your own past, and make you wonder how well you really know the people you’ve loved the longest.

The Girls WeekendThe Girls Weekend by Jody Gehrman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


BLOG
•••
TWITTER
•••
WHISHLIST
••• 2 months of free books
HERE

E-ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own and are not affected in any way.

PROS:
• Well developed characters. I feel like if the author didn’t put a name to every character, I would’ve still known who is who. They are very easy to differentiate, their voices being so clear from one another that it’s hard to mistake them.
• Amazing plot twist! I’m sure that for many of you who read or will read this book, won’t agree with me, mostly if you are well read in the thriller genre. But hear me out! From the moment that it’s revealed that Sadie is missing, I just keep guessing in my mind who and why it did it. The rest of the book until the moment of reveal, was for me like a race, to see if I am wrong or not, to hop from suspecting someone to see another character as the main bad guy. And I don’t know for you, but for me, when a “whodoneit” thriller does this to me, keeps me engaging, guessing and questioning my observation power, it’s all I need from it. Plus, it was so hard for me to stop reading!
• Bad but believable characters decisions. All characters had some major troubles on their house’s roofs, no one is sane enough to think straight. Some have obsessions, some have trauma, some have major things to deal with in their lives, and all of these contribute to their bad decisions and actions, but unlike others, these characters are believable. Their decisions are believable. And it’s easy to put yourself in their skin.
• Highly entertaining! Beside the fact that when I started it I have read maybe 10 pages and after I put it down for almost a week because I wasn’t in the mood for a thriller, when I picked it up back I just found myself unable to stop reading! Do I need to say more?!

CONS:
• None, thank you!

OVERALL THOUGHTS:
If you want a gripping “whodoneit” style thriller, with believable and well defined characters, then this book is for you! Also, perfect for Ruth Ware fans!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s